“I’d like a little less romance in my romance novels, please.”

Yesterday, I saw this in a Harlequin romance novel display at Borders:

Nothing makes me want to do it like a chalk outline.

"Nothing makes me want to do it like a chalk outline."

I’m not sure if it was the juxtaposition of murder and blossoming romance, the intrinsic oddness of the phrase “love-inspired suspense,” or the inexplicable inclusion of an adorable kitty peeking out from behind the legs of one of our headless protagonists, but it kinda caught my attention.

Upon consulting the interwebs, I learned that On a Killer’s Trail is one of a series of Harlequin books dedicated to highlighting Christian romantic ideals through tales of gruesome crime. In this particular installment, an old lady’s murder leads our protagonists to the realization that it’s important to save sex for marriage.

I guess it makes sense, seeing as butchered old ladies are up there with images of festering snakebite wounds on the list of “Things That Really Don’t Make Me Want to Do It.”

2 responses to ““I’d like a little less romance in my romance novels, please.”

  1. The cat obviously symbolizes the fact that any pre-marital pussy will kill you.

  2. Hehe.
    With skillz like that, you should have been a lit major.

Leave a Reply

