brokeback bathroom

I will admit that I’m enjoying the Senator Larry Craig drama a little more than I should. I feel badly for his wife, regardless of whether she’s been deluded or an accessory to her husband’s delusions, but not badly enough not to chuckle at the sinisterly snide headlines (“Brokeback Bathroom,” “www.craigslust.org,” and the more direct, “Larry Craig: Still Not Gay” are among my favorites) or feel a little satisfied that another homophobic hypocrite has revealed himself. (Pun unintended but too awful not to leave there.)

But the best part is, even in the midst of this mess, Craig seems to think that the crime he’s being charged with is homosexuality, not lewd conduct in a public place.

From the Washington Post:
“Let me be clear: I am not gay. I never have been gay,” Craig said. Evidently, Craig did not think this was clear enough, because moments later, he explained why he kept the arrest a secret. “I wasn’t eager to share this failure, but I should have anyway — because I am not gay!”

To which one audience member shouted, “What if you were gay?”

A fair question, and one that millions of people have been brave enough to ask themselves. But, when you’ve built your career on intolerance of homosexuality, I guess that’s an impossible proposition to entertain, even while propositioning other men in an airport bathroom.

Leave a Reply

