It’s not really the “high road” when…

Ok, so a handful of republican-run states are declaring they don’t need the government’s stinking stimulus money, all in the name of the “return to fiscal conservative values” that’s suddenly so vogue among the mountain-climbers of the Grand Ole Party.

Among these states: Idaho, Louisiana, South Carolina, Texas, and …Alaska.

Yes, Alaska. The same state that, for the past five years, received 18 times more in federal earmarks than the national average. That ranked first in federal spending per capita in 18 of the 25 years between 1981 and 2005, and received $1.84 from the federal government for every $1 it spent on federal taxes in 2005.

I guess it’s easy to say no to a federal stimulus package when you’ve already been benefiting from your own personal federal stimulus for the past two and a half decades.

(In fact, the only one of the five states “threatening” not to accept the stimulus that isn’t a beneficiary state is Texas, for which the money received/taxes spent columns come out close to even. So, fine, Texas. But the other four? Seriously. Bad, bad political bluff.)

4 responses to “It’s not really the “high road” when…

  1. I have to say I am not really surprised. I don’t know enough about of the other two states (but I could certainly use my imagination) but I do know much too much about both Alaska and South Carolina (my mother is of SC) and I can say this thankless acquiescence is completely expected. Spend twenty minutes in anywhere, SC and you will have that state pretty much in the bag. It’s officials, lawmakers, and old gentry are just one sad extension of the fuckery that makes SC so infamously crappy.

    Alaska, well, we already understand the shit that goes down there and (cough) why.

  2. Yeah–
    I guess I’m not so much surprised by their audacity as I am offended by it, and in turn disappointed in all the complacent folks who take these sorts of empty pronouncements at face value. I don’t think there are many (any?) political machinations left that could really surprise anyone who pays an inkling of attention to politics, you know? But so many people don’t, thus allowing our politicians to continue getting away with all this brazenly hypocritical shit.

    Grr.

  3. I second your “Grr.” I am still in the early stages of understanding the magnitude of awfulness that can be our world. I’m going through a belated, “God damn, that’s fucked-up.” awareness. I missed out ten years ago, so I’m playing catch up. It’s funny, Will laughs at me when I get bent out about something particularly shiteous because he has already been there. He has run the emotional cycle of clueless, enlightened, angry as hell, and now currently numb. I don’t wish to be numb, ever. However, a good dose of anger can get things done, as we have just witnessed.

    So again, I second your,”Grr.”

  4. No, I know what you mean. I grew up in a pretty conservative household, too, and it wasn’t until I got to college that I started seeing things from a different perspective, and even that perspective shifts all the time based on new experiences that I have.

    I think having come to a lot of the ideas I have now “the hard way” is part of what makes me really frustrated with people that refuse to do that hard work of opening their eyes to what is going on around them. There’s an “If I can do it, so can you” thing running through my head.

Leave a Reply

